Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play: Ruleset, Skill Divisions, Maps & Modes

Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play: Ruleset, Skill Divisions, Maps & Modes
Written by: Mohsin

The Ranked Mode of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 gives players a chance to compete in a more official capacity as compared to the regular public matches or CDL Moshpit playlist. The main goal of the mode is to organize players into skill divisions.


This will allow them to go up against each other and advance the players that usually come out on top the most. This arena also prohibits many game elements, such as overly powerful weapons as well as killstreaks, to make sure that the competition is competitively balanced.


Screenshot_2023 03 05_044616


It does not matter if you are a beginner entering the world of the Competitive Call of Duty scene or a grizzled vet who has been playing the game since the days of the Competitive playlist in Blacklist. There are always special and one-of-a-kind features to learn about this version of the system.



In this article, we explain everything there is to know about the Ranked Play of Modern Warfare 2, along with its ruleset, Skill Divisions, maps, modes, and so much more! So, keep reading this article; even if you are a beginner or a professional player, it might come in handy!



Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Mode Ruleset


As it was stated above, the Ranked Mode of Modern Warfare 2 is a very different experience as compared to the regular public matches. The playlist works on the current version of the Call of Duty League ruleset.




This means that specific guns, equipment, and killstreaks will not be allowed. Moreover, the CDL rules define the map and game mode combinations, which means that only certain pairings are playable.


Search and Destroy


  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • El Asilo
  • Embassy
  • Mercado Las Almas




  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • Embassy
  • Mercado Las Almas
  • Zarqwa Hydroelectric




  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • El Asilo



Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Skill Divisions


As it was explained in the official reveal blog, the classic divisional system has returned to the game once again, along with a few additional skill tiers. As an alternative to placement matches, each player starts as a Bronze Ranked player.


The players move up the ladder by acquiring the minimum amount of Skill Rating required for each Skill Division. Demotion Protection is a brand-new feature that protects players from being demoted for the first three matches of a new Skill Division.




Skill Rating Forgiveness is one more new feature that stops team members from losing any Skill Rating in case a teammate disconnects or quits in the middle of the match.


According to the devs, this is how they put it, “SR Forgiveness: if a player disconnects or quits in the middle of the match, all team members outside of that player’s party will not lose ANY SR. Basically, if that 4v4 becomes a 3v4 due to a teammate quitting, SR can still be earned if you manage to overcome the disadvantage and win the match, but losing while shorthanded won’t deduct any SR.”


A player’s highest Skill Division placement decides the rewards that they will earn as well as where they will start for the next season. Bronze through Crimson players will start on Skill Division back at the beginning of a new season.


Following are the seven Skill Divison as well as the required Skill Rating for each of them:


  • Bronze – 0-899 SR
  • Silver – 900-2,099 SR
  • Gold – 2,100-3,599 SR
  • Platinum – 3,600-5,399 SR
  • Diamond – 5,400-7,499 SR
  • Crimson – 7,500-9,999 SR
  • Iridescent – 10,000 SR minimum


Furthermore, Ranked will eventually showcase the Top 250, which means that the players with the highest Skill Rating in the game will have their names and the ladder position shown off on an in-game leaderboard.


The 250 best players having the highest SR above 10,000 will be placed in the Top 50 leaderboard. The developers also announced a new feature that will allow players to track the CDL Pros that qualify for the Top 250.



Rank And Seasonal Awards


Just as it was in Call of Duty: Vanguard, there will be exclusive Ranked items that can only be earned by completing several benchmarks in the mode. Modern Warfare 2 also added a Rank system.




Players start off at Rank 1 and can move up to Rank 50 by winning matches. These Ranks do not reset between the Ranked season.


Following is a list of all of the Ranked rewards that will be available at launch:


  • Rank 5: Ranked Competitor Operator Skin Pack
  • Rank 10: ‘Press F’ Emblem
  • Rank 15: Pro Issue Sidearm Blueprint
  • Rank 20: ‘Ace’ Weapon Charm
  • Rank 25: ‘Turn It Up’ Emblem
  • Rank 30: New Gun Screen that tracks Ranked Play wins
  • Rank 35: ‘I’m Cracked’ Large Weapon Decal
  • Rank 40: Pro Issue Combat Knife Blueprint
  • Rank 45: Sweep Weapon Charm
  • Rank 50: Ranked Veteran Operator Skins (Home and Away)


Following is a list of all of the Skill Division rewards:


  • Bronze and Silver: new emblem
  • Any other Skill Division: two new Operator Skins, an Animated Emblem, and a Weapon Charm
  • Iridescent and top 250: an Aminated Calling Card
  • #1 Ranked Play Player: one-of-a-king exclusive Animated Calling Card and Emblem


There are also rewards for players when they reach specific win totals as well which are as follows:


  • 5 Wins: ‘Season 2 Competitor’ Weapon Sticker
  • 10 Wins: Pro Issue Vaznev-9k Weapon Blueprint
  • 25 Wins: ‘MVP’ Weapon Charm
  • 50 Wins: ‘The Factor’ Large Weapon Decal
  • 75 Wins: ‘Ranked Play Season 2’ Loading Screen
  • 100 Wins: ‘Season 2 Ranked Veteran’ Weapon Camo


That is all of the information that is available regarding the Ranked Mode in Modern Warfare. Go ahead and keep playing the game in order to climb up that ladder and reach the highest rank to get some exciting and useful rewards!

No comments yet
Please login to leave a comment.
Lethal Gaming Gear DesktopLethal Gaming Gear Mobile